WILLIE MOE’S TOP BEERS OF ’08

Following in the footsteps of fellow Beerjangler, Billiam, I thought it would be nice to give our readers a taste of what I drank and liked in ’08. You know, beer-wise. Now as you read through this list, you may be saying to yourself, “Wait a tick! Willie Moe has a bunch of beers listed here, that we have not heard him talk about at all! What gives?” Well folks, I’ll tell ya. You see I wasn’t exactly on top of the reviewing posts in ’08, but ’09 will be a whole nuther story. Now several of these beers will be looked at more in-depthly in the coming months, so just sit tight and you will be handsomely rewarded. But for now here are the best beers I had the pleasure of drinking down in ’08, in no particular order:

Green Flash West Coast IPA– West coast hops at their finest! And I’ll go out on alimb that this not just a flash of greatness from the Green Flash gang.

Pizza Port Hop-15A citrusy hoptastic delight! Grab one of these, and then all you need is the pizza.

Pizza Port 2nd AnniversaryA hopped up Hop-15, with a cornucopia of flavors meshing with the hoppy goodness. Shazam!

Boston Beer Works (Canal St.) Irish Cream Stout- Had this last winter,not sure yet if its available this year, but it may be one of the best stouts I’ve ever had and I’m not the biggest stout fan. However I am a stout fella.

Berkshire Lost Sailor- One of the first beers I had upon my return to Beantown and its one of my go-to brews. Weighing in at a mere 5.5% ABV, this is a nice IPA for those who don’t like the hop heavy taste of your average American IPA. A good gateway IPA, if you would.

Weyerbacher XIII- Dark, complex and potent, this one packs a wallop. But you could have probably seen that coming from an Imperial Stout with a 13.4% ABV.

Southern Tier Choklat- Doesn’t taste like a chocolate stout, just like pure chocolate. Chocolately, chocolate, choco-ness, plain and simple!

Southern Tier Unearthly- Hop diggity, dog diggity! Another bullseye from New York’s Southern Tier.

Berkshire Holidale- Another solid offering from Berkshire. Not the top barleywine out there, but definitely solid enough

Hoptimus Prime- The name alone got me on this one. But what do ya know, it’s a good drink as well!

Cambridge Big Man Ale- Listed as a strong ale, but has some IPA characteristics. A highly drinkable winter brew. Good in other seasons as well, I would imagine.

Nogne O- det kompromisslose bryggeri God Jul- Best Norwegian beer I’ve ever had! And I’m not just saying that because it’s the only Norwegian beer I’ve ever had. It’s a must try winter beer, if you have the means!

He’brew Bittersweet Lenny R.I.P.A.- The ryes have it! Made even more bitter by the fact that I drank this as the Patriots were losing a Super Bowl. But still a top notch offering from the Schmaltz crew.

Avery Maharaja- Or as I like to call it, Maharahajahaha. I’m not positive but I’m pretty sure this is named for the ancient Prince of Hoptoria, Majaharajahaha?

Avery Ale to the Chief- One of the best ways to ring in the new presidency! Although, ironically, its the current prez that has led most of us to drink.

Stone Coast Knuckleball Bock- An above average bock, plus I’m a sucker for baseball references, and this is certainly a hit. But why not just Knucklebock? Just wish they stuck with the baseball references for all there brews. Wild Pitch IPA? Triple Play Wheat? Slider Stout?

Rogue Track City 100m Ale- A delightful mix of piney and citrusy hops, to tantalize the palate. And I think I can speak for all the Beerjanglers, when I say this is about the only 100 meters we can handle at our ages and present physical shapes.

Brooklyner-Schneider Hopfen-Weisse- Why bother explaining this when the Alstrom Brothers can do it for me, “Brooklyn version. This brew is the result of the long friendship of Brooklyn brewmaster Garrett Oliver and Schneider brewmaster Hans-Peter Drexler. Garrett had always admired the delicate balance of flavors in Schneider Weisse, while Hans-Peter had long enjoyed the effusive hop character of Brooklyn East India Pale Ale and BLAST! Garrett’s concept for the collaboration was that each brewmaster would brew essentially the same pale, hoppy weissbock in the other’s brewery, but with different hopping to reflect the local hop flavor.”

Cisco Grey Lady- A topnotch witbeir, worthy of the Hackett brothers and the rest of the Nantucket locals at the Club Car.

Cisco IPA- If you’re gonna live on an island you best have some good craft beer handy. And Cisco certainly has the Nantucketers covered. Just wish they were a bit less costly for us mainlanders.

Sierra Nevada Southern Hemisphere Fresh Hop Ale- The wordiest titled beer I drank on ’08. Luckily three of those words I love to see on a beer bottle. Fresh. Hop. Ale.

Southern Tier Backburner- As the resident Beerjanglin’ Barleywiner, I’d have to say this is one of my favs, and a highly recommended barleywine.

~ by hopper12 on January 16, 2009.

3 Responses to “WILLIE MOE’S TOP BEERS OF ’08”

  1. You drank a lot of beer! I wish I had put together a list for posterity as well. I will say that you surely have some winners there. The first time I had Green Flash IPA I was blown away (even at $12.99 a six pack).

  2. Hey there. This is Zak Davis from Shmaltz Brewing Company. Just wanted to say thanks a lot for including the Bittersweet Lenny’s RIPA on your list. I’m really glad you enjoyed it. I hope it made the Patriots’ loss a little more palatable (pardon the bad pun). See you in ’09! L’Chaim!!

  3. Hey Zak, no problem. “Lenny” did indeed make the Pats loss more palatable. Keep up the good work over there at Scmaltzy! I’m a fan of your brews and also their names! Mahzeltov!

Leave a Reply

 
