The V.P. Approves…Spotty Dog Books and Ale

SD

Who reading this doesn’t love beer? No hands up? Good. I didn’t think so.

Now who reading this doesn’t like books? Again, I’ll assume there are no hands raised.

Well I got good news for you Beer and Book lovers, The Spotty Dog Books and Ale has both!

Before I get into the Spotty Dog, let me give a background of Hudson, NY. It is a strange dichotomy of high and not so high class. The main drag, Warren street, is home to many trendy art galleries, antique stores, cafes, and boutiques. The sides streets however, look like they have not changed much since it’s infamous heyday.  The city has a very unique feel to it.

The Spotty Dog is located in the old C.H. Evans Fire House (Yes, that C.H. Evans). Once inside, there is a small bar, numerous book shelves, and a back room full of art supplies. Let’s be honest, the Sawmill it ain’t.

The Beer selection is solid. They offer brews from Lagunitas, Ommegang, Chatham Brewery, and C.H. Evans to name a few. It is definitely a change to have a beer in a place that is not a bar, restaurant or my couch. You can drink your beer while browsing and reading the books. I had a Lagunittas Cappuccino stout while reading a book with the names of every heavy metal band known to man. I can honestly say this was a first.

So the final review? The Spotty Dog is a good place, and maybe one of the few places, to enjoy a book and a beer. It is nice to enjoy a beer in a place other than the usual bar for a change. Would I make this a regular hangout? I’m not sure. The clientel is different than what I’m used to. I think if I talked about the Geeeeeeeeeeee-Men or raised my voice with excitement of the latest Steve Guttenberg movie, I might get shushed. But as an occasional stop while I am in town, I can see it happening. Kudos to the owners for coming up with an idea as novel (get it?) as this one.

~ by theveep on January 18, 2009.

2 Responses to “The V.P. Approves…Spotty Dog Books and Ale”

  1. WOW! They stole my idea! I really need to start writing those down. Well, back to the drawing board. I’ve got it! A place for good beer and blogging! I could call it “Bloggers and Ales”! I don’t think that’s taken?

  2. I’ve been meaning to get to that joint for too long. Are there huge, old wooden tables to sit at whilst perusing old tomes and sipping tasty ales?

Leave a Reply

 
