Review: Southern Tier Krampus

I know I’m probably pulling up the rear on this one, but I wanted to drop a note about the winter brew from Southern Tier Brewing called Krampus. I was hesitant to try it because I had thought it was a winter ale, which isn’t my favorite style, but when I found out it was actually some kind of Imperial Helles Lager.

And it is fantastic.

The creature Krampus, legend has it, is an incubus that acts as a sort of bizarro Santa Claus, punishing little punk-ass children. I wish we had a Krampus in my elementary school.

The beer itself does not punish, but unless by “punish” you mean “lavish upon the taste buds and olfactory glands an orgy of pale malts, sweet citrusy hops and a fruity aroma.”

There really is not much more I can say other than that the hops are an otherwordly flowery/citrus variety, with lots of dry, pale malts and a crisp finish. (That’s probably where the lager part comes in.) All this in a cloudy orange appearance, with lots of thick, sticky lace on the side of the glass, mocking you for having no more of it to drink.

If you can find it, get it while it’s still available.

~ by William H on April 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
