The Motherlode: 21st Amendment Brew Free! or Die IPA

I have an embarrassment of beer in my fridge and in a box, and it’s mostly new stuff. So I figured, why not say a little something about each one. Between a box of beer I got from The Vintage Cellar in Blacksburg, VA, and a trip to Beverage Den and Smoke Shop in Bennington, VT, I spent way too much but I think I came away with one hell of a bargain. Over the next few days (probably weeks, given the number of fluid ounces I currently possess), I’m going to have one or two every day and share my findings.

First up, Brew Free or Die! IPA by 21st Amendment Brewery in San Fran. It’s a 7.0% IPA in a can that uses six different types of hops, according to their website.

It pours a clear amber-yellow, with tons of carbonation. Nice, lasting head and lacing that would make Jackson Pollack proud. The steady jetsam of carbonation is unrelenting, even when it’s down to the last finger of fluid.

The aroma begins with a nice citrus aroma, combining orange peel, tangerine and some grapefruit. The flavor follows suit, but with more of the pine and spruce as well. There are some earthy malts (a hint of sawdust?), but they are clearly overshadowed by the hops. There is not much bitterness, save for a little bite at the end.

The can I got tastes like it might be just a smidge old, because it’s got a minor mustiness, but that certainly doesn’t detract from my enjoyment. This is a good go-to for the summer months, and although it’s not quite “sessionable,” it’s certainly one worth repeating.

~ by William H on April 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
