My Top 2%

I am on the verge of rating my 800th beer on RateBeer.com (I used to be a BeerAdvocate.com guy, but not anymore.) It takes a special kind of OCD-addled psychotic to actually write down reviews for 800 beers, but that is my modus operandi.

At any rate, in the course of the four-plus years I’ve been doing these ratings, I decided to post my most highly decorated beers according to the calculations that RateBeer uses to …. well, rate beer. I’m surprised at a couple of them (notably the Stone 08.08.08 Vertical Epic ale, which I don’t remember gushing over so lovingly), but I would say that a couple of them were just perfect for their time and place. For me, it shows the subjective nature of the beer-drinking experience; a great beer might not be so great if in imperfect conditions. That’s why it’s good to keep drinking and keep revisiting when possible.

Anyway, here are my top 15. They are all American, representing California, Pennsylvania, Colorado, New York, Georgia, Indiana, Michigan and Maryland. I’m not saying they are necessarily THE best beers in the world, but I would stake my beer-drinking reputation on any one of ’em. Cheers!

15. Stone 08.08.08 Vertical Epic Ale
14. Stoudts Fat Dog Stout
13. Stone Ruination IPA
12. Oskar Blues Gubna Imperial IPA
11. Tröegs Nugget Nectar Ale
10. Mendocino Winter Seasonal Imperial IPA
9. Sweetwater Happy Ending Imperial Stout
8. Great Divide Old Ruffian
7. Three Floyds Alpha King
6. Rogue Yellow Snow IPA
5. Founders Red’s Rye PA
4. Ellicottville Pantius Droppus Imperial IPA
3. Flying Dog Double Dog IPA
2. Sierra Nevada Harvest Ale
1. Arcadia Hop Rocket 11th Anniversary Ale

~ by William H on July 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
